Ups and downs come in all shapes and sizes.

I have mixed feeling about things I enjoy, it’s an odd experience. It reminds me of when I spent a lot of time using drugs, I had a separate life for each group of people I had to deal with. I find it hard to live that way and I’m not pleased about this . . . thing.

What strikes fear in me the most is that I have identified this as the same feeling I have toward Warhammer, D&D, and countless other nerd things that I allow myself mindlessly self-indulge. Needless to say it makes me a little uncomfortable to find a correlation between my old habits and needs and my new habits and needs. I guess I really just wanted to be over that part of life, I want to enjoy things but not with an uncontrollable obsession.

Something to ponder.

In other news, here’s some pictures.

This is me the day of my surgery, 10-21-09.

This is me yesterday, 1-26-10, 3 months after my surgery and 80 pounds lighter.

My clothes don’t really do me justice, but I have lost a lot of weight and feel better in some ways. I only have 125 pounds more to lose. cross your fingers.

This entry was posted in Lapband. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ups and downs come in all shapes and sizes.

  1. sinotuber says:

    I can see it.When your brother gave up Warhammer… well, I think you were there to see my face. Total shock. Not that he'd give it up, but more concern that he was ejecting something that brought him so much joy. But to talk to him about it, it makes a lot of sense.But what the fuck do I know. I had the same impression about someone else I know just about as well. And then I heard he tried to off himself.I'm not entirely sold on the "all things in moderation" motto, but your completionist whore instinct sets off my warning bells. The world isn't something you ever complete. *shrug*Give Jesus Incident a whirl before you lay hands on Destination Void. You'll enjoy it, and overlooking the plot gaps might be something like a Buddhist exercise.And don't take that as a suggestion about how to be happy and complete. Just read my fucking book already so you can talk about it with me.

  2. sinotuber says:

    *I can see it: the weight loss.Woot.

Leave a Reply

