Heroes of 4.5

When I saw the listing for “Heroes of Shadow”, the new D&D book, I was excited for several reasons. First and foremost was that it was hardcover, second was that in a few WotC employees had said they were done with the Essentials line for the time be and would be heading back to the “normal” 4th edition. Keep in mind that I have all the “normal” 4th edition books and was dismayed when the Essentials came out and looks suspiciously like a 4.5.

As it turns out, “Heroes of Shadow” is in fact a Essentials book, no matter how you slice it. That’s not to say it won’t work with 4th Edition, it will after some tuning and toying, but it’s not meant for it. Needless to say this pisses me right the fuck off, pissed off to the point that I’m done. Really, REALLY, done. I’m not going to support WotC’s constant assault on my wallet anymore, it’s like GW all over again. It’s for the best anyway.

The part of this that really cooks my bacon is that WotC couldn’t be bothered to call it what it is, a new edition, it’s the same shit they pulled with 3.5 but at least it got a new number all its own.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Heroes of 4.5

  1. j0nny_5 says:

    I’m not sure I agree with you, time will tell. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not a huge fan of Essentials either, but Heroes of Shadow seems like a good segue into to “core” 4e. Think of it from a marketing perspective. There are a lot of 4e books and the power creep is as evident as always. So, revamp the older classes while trying to bring in a new crowd at the same time. Now, to get that new crowd to buy the original, non-essentials books you have to ease them into it. So you have a book that’s half-and-half, written for the Essentials reader, but definitely not the paperback they’re familiar with. It’s a taste of core 4e, not for we core players, but for the Essentials newbs.

Leave a Reply

